11 September 2012

[DISCOGRAPHY] Boy King Islands - Sun Worship

Boy King Islands - Sun Worship (Plustapes, 2012)
Format: Cassette (run of 200 copies), Digital

Boy King Islands - Sun Worship

1. I Am You
2. All Green & White
3. Summer Sun
4. Fade
5. Feel So Young
6. Falling Ceiling
7. Chasing Noises
8. Guilty Hands
9. A Promise Away

All songs written by Boy King Islands (Diaspora Movement, ASCAP and He Heard Himself Say, BMI). Recorded, mixed and produced at ECHO/NORMAL in Chicago by Boy King Islands and Dan Smart. Mastered by Keith Kreuser.

Boy King Islands:
Jason Hunt: Guitars and Keyboards
Zachary Mastoon: Bass, Guitars, Drums, Piano & Words

Jacob Croegaert: Bass on 1, 2 and 8
Beth Hunt: Additional Vocals on 2, 4 & 5
Alexandra Lewis: Words on 1
Matt Lux: Bass on 5

Photography by Shaun Roberts
Design by Someoddpilot


On Boy King Islands' sophomore release "Sun Worship", Zachary Mastoon aka Caural and Jason Hunt delve into more accessible territory, transforming their unique brand of shoegaze into palacial, psychedelic pop. The duo hone fuzzy melancholia over the breadth of these nine songs, mixed in the humid heights of a Chicago summer. Raising the tempo from their debut, vocal harmonies glide above the driving shift of jazz chords - all awash in a surf of cymbals and echo. Look directly into the sun and press play.

04 September 2012

[DISCOGRAPHY] feltbattery - Behold A Golden Throng

feltbattery - Behold A Golden Throng (Migration Media, 2012)
Format: CD-R (run of 100 copies), Digital

feltbattery - Behold A Golden Throng

1. Bivouac
2. Beat Harvest
3. Coronation
4. La Vol de Noces
5. Propolis
6. The Great Work
7. Drona
8. Sun Cycle
9. An Opened Head
10. Lamentation
11. 250 htz
12. The Oracle
13. Give Me Eyes
14. Woman With Skeps
15. Bien
16. Tiny Hairs
17. Birds Fall Away
18. Squash Blossoms
19. Haengekorb
20. The Dead Are With Us
21. + One (A Golden Throng) 

Behold a Golden Throng was recorded from June 2007 to June 2009. Original sounds created in or around Hillsborough, NC: Apis Melifera from Adelaide and Timberwood Farms, locust swarm ca. 1998 courtesy of Tom Laney, peepers from the Bellvue Creek, other frogs, crickets or swarms sourced from ponds and ditches of greater Orange Co. 

Sounds were altered by Benjamin Trueblood, Zachary Mastoon, and James Hayford. Additional noises offered by Samuel Trueblood (pots & pans), Marcus and Henry (drums and bagpipe) as well as others. All was mastered by William Joshua Bratcher April 2010. All pieces antwaspandbeemusic.

My contribution appears re-edited throughout various songs on the album. The two songs I constructed out of feltbattery's source material appear separately on Caural's Die Before You Die EP ("All Doors Open to The Same Room") and on Take aka Sweatson Klank's Sweatson's Trajectory mix ("Stalactite").