11 September 2012

[DISCOGRAPHY] Boy King Islands - Sun Worship

Boy King Islands - Sun Worship (Plustapes, 2012)
Format: Cassette (run of 200 copies), Digital

Boy King Islands - Sun Worship

1. I Am You
2. All Green & White
3. Summer Sun
4. Fade
5. Feel So Young
6. Falling Ceiling
7. Chasing Noises
8. Guilty Hands
9. A Promise Away

All songs written by Boy King Islands (Diaspora Movement, ASCAP and He Heard Himself Say, BMI). Recorded, mixed and produced at ECHO/NORMAL in Chicago by Boy King Islands and Dan Smart. Mastered by Keith Kreuser.

Boy King Islands:
Jason Hunt: Guitars and Keyboards
Zachary Mastoon: Bass, Guitars, Drums, Piano & Words

Jacob Croegaert: Bass on 1, 2 and 8
Beth Hunt: Additional Vocals on 2, 4 & 5
Alexandra Lewis: Words on 1
Matt Lux: Bass on 5

Photography by Shaun Roberts
Design by Someoddpilot


On Boy King Islands' sophomore release "Sun Worship", Zachary Mastoon aka Caural and Jason Hunt delve into more accessible territory, transforming their unique brand of shoegaze into palacial, psychedelic pop. The duo hone fuzzy melancholia over the breadth of these nine songs, mixed in the humid heights of a Chicago summer. Raising the tempo from their debut, vocal harmonies glide above the driving shift of jazz chords - all awash in a surf of cymbals and echo. Look directly into the sun and press play.